25.2 C
New York
Tuesday, September 30, 2025

magic the gathering – Can this sequence of occasions trigger a commander to be completely phased out?


Suppose that you’ve a three-player Commander recreation. The gamers are Alice, Bob, and Carol. Bob’s commander is Isamaru, Hound of Konda, a vanilla creature.

On Alice’s flip, she:

  1. Casts Dominate to realize management of Isamaru.
  2. Casts Track of the Dryads to show Isamaru right into a colorless Forest land (that is not a creature).
  3. Prompts the primary skill of Memnarch to completely flip Isamaru into an artifact (an Artifact Land — Forest).
  4. Casts Bludgeon Brawl, turning Isamaru into an Artifact Land — Tools Forest.
  5. Casts Grizzly Bears (a vanilla creature) and equips Isamaru to Grizzly Bears.
  6. Casts Actuality Ripple to section out Grizzly Bears. (Isamaru phases out not directly per 702.25f.)
  7. Concedes the sport.

For reference:

702.25f When a everlasting phases out, any Auras, Tools, or Fortifications connected to that everlasting section out on the identical time. This alternate method of phasing out is called phasing out “not directly.” An Aura, Tools, or Fortification that phased out not directly gained’t section in by itself, however as a substitute phases in together with the everlasting it’s connected to.

702.25m In a multiplayer recreation, recreation guidelines could trigger a phased-out everlasting to depart the sport or to be exiled as soon as a participant leaves the sport. (See guidelines 800.4a and 800.4c.) If a phased-out everlasting phased out beneath the management of a participant who has left the sport, that everlasting phases in in the course of the subsequent untap step after that participant’s subsequent flip would have begun.

Will Isamaru ever section again in? That’s, does the adverse rule “An Aura, Tools, or Fortification that phased out not directly gained’t section in by itself” trump the optimistic rule “If a phased-out everlasting phased out beneath the management of a participant who has left the sport, that everlasting phases in in the course of the subsequent untap step after that participant’s subsequent flip would have begun.”? In that case, is there any sequence of actions that may trigger Isamaru to section in? (Time and Tide will not do it as a result of Isamaru will not be a creature.)

If Isamaru would section in, then does the state of affairs change if Alice casts Donate to provide Isamaru again to Bob earlier than casting Actuality Ripple?

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles