I might argue that Catan itself does not perceive there personal guidelines, and I might comply with you to say sure you’re taking both street.
It’s true that this particular guidelines is clarified within the FAQ on the English Catan web site. Talking as of November 2025 they state the next:
“Progress Playing cards: Diplomat – If an opponent interrupts my steady street by inserting a settlement or a knight, does this imply that my two street items adjoining to the interruption at the moment are open?
No. Please additionally see the reply to the query When is a street open?.”
They consult with the next Faq “When is a street open”:
“Progress Playing cards: Diplomat – When is a street open?
The identical rule as for ships apply to roads right here.
Please look right here: When is a ship “open”?”
which then refers to:
“Ships – When is a ship “open”?
A ship is “open” when it’s situated on the finish of a transport route. As quickly as a transport route connects two settlements (or cities or for Cities & Knights additionally knights), the transport route is taken into account as closed. A ship in a closed transport route can’t be moved. The identical rule applies for roads.
This rule additionally applies if an opponent builds a settlement on an intersection of your closed transport route. On this case, your steady commerce route is taken into account as interrupted; nonetheless, the 2 settlements of the transport route are nonetheless linked, that means that the transport route stays closed.
Particular Case: If a ship’s line begins at a settlement or metropolis and returns to this settlement or metropolis and not using a constructing between the person roads, one of many two ends of the ship’s line bordering the settlement or metropolis is taken into account open. Thus, any of the 2 ships that border the settlement or metropolis could also be moved.
Particular Case 2: If a ship’s line describes a circle with out connecting a settlement or metropolis, then every of the ships on this circle is taken into account to be a open.”
The issue is that they justify their first case based mostly on a brand new and I might argue flawed rule. Within the guidelines of the 4th,fifth additionally earlier guidelines and even the principles of the 2025 sixth version (they might have been capable of change this rule however did not. The Rule in all of the rulebooks: Chances are you’ll solely transfer a ship if certainly one of its two ends is “open.” A ship’s finish is
“open” when it isn’t subsequent to certainly one of your ships or buildings.
it’s at all times very clear that it ought to be between your personal coloration.
The rule within the FAQ out of the blue does not point out something anymore about that it must be between your personal settlements, knights, cities. However simply any. It is a new rule that’s solely talked about on the official English catan.com web site, however this guidelines is nowhere to be present in any of the offcial rulebooks, not even with the brand new 2025 sixth version of the sport. I might argue that the person who wrote this FAQ, does not learn the rule books and simply product of a brand new rule.
