Zombify (and plenty of comparable playing cards prefer it) says:
Return goal creature card out of your graveyard to the battlefield.
So far as I can inform from the wording, the precise concentrating on requirement is “creature card”. Does this imply that you may forged Zombify, concentrating on a creature card that is not in your graveyard? After all should you can, then when it resolves it will do nothing, as a result of it’s unimaginable to return a card from the graveyard if it is not within the graveyard [101.3]. However there are many causes you may need to forged a spell that has no impact.
Or is the concentrating on requirement is definitely meant to be “goal creature card out of your graveyard”? This does not sound correct to me; as a result of if that’s the case, it must be “in your graveyard” as an alternative of “out of your graveyard” (as is used on different playing cards like Animate Useless.
Associated; if the concentrating on requirement is in truth “goal creature card”, then what really makes a creature card in your graveyard a authorized goal? Rule 115.2 says:
Solely permanents are authorized targets for spells and skills, until a spell or capability (a) specifies that it could actually goal an object in one other zone or a participant, or (b) targets an object that may’t exist on the battlefield, reminiscent of a spell or capability. See additionally rule 115.4.
Does Zombify really “specify that it could actually goal an object in one other zone”? It would not within the concentrating on necessities itself.
I am unable to discover something throughout the guidelines for concentrating on (115) or the principles for casting a spell (601.2c) that say that the flexibility a spell would have when resolving can or will have an effect on the selection of authorized targets. From a logical gameplay standpoint, we will know that the cardboard solely is smart if it lets you goal playing cards in your graveyard; however do the principles ever make it in order that it’s a must to have a look at the impact of a spell to know the set of authorized targets?
The foundations for talents have a associated rule about when talents apply; however they do not cope with targets:
113.6. Skills of an on the spot or sorcery spell normally operate solely whereas that object is on the stack. Skills of all different objects normally operate solely whereas that object is on the battlefield. The exceptions are as follows:
The listing of exceptions clarify why Reassembling Skeleton‘s activated capability might be activated whereas it’s within the graveyard. Is there a rule much like this, however coping with what objects are authorized targets?