27 C
New York
Friday, September 19, 2025

magic the gathering – Do creatures killed by the “First Strike” capability die really “earlier than” others in the identical fight section?


The Durkwood Boars will die even when the Chaos Lord did not have first strike.

When a fight section entails at the least one creature with first strike and/or double strike, fight has two separate fight harm steps as a substitute of the common one. Throughout that first step, solely creatures with first strike and/or double strike deal harm. Creatures that obtain deadly harm throughout that first step die, and their static skills, like Arcades Sabboth’s, cease functioning with their deaths.

Within the second harm step, your Boars can be 4/4 and commerce evenly with the 4/4 Hydra and each die.

Nonetheless, even when the Chaos Lord didn’t have first strike and all creatures dealt their harm on the similar time, the Arcades nonetheless dies and the one distinction ultimately end result could be that the Chaos Lord additionally dies to fight harm from Arcades.

Fight harm, like all different harm, stays marked on creatures till the cleanup step, and for the Boars it doesn’t matter in the event that they took harm after they had been 4/4 or after they had been 4/6. Arcades Sabboth dies in any situation and the Boars can be 4/4 ultimately, which means their 4 marked factors of harm can be deadly deadly the following time a participant would achieve precedence after the second fight harm step.

So in conclusion, the outline will not be technically fallacious, however it’s deceptive as a result of it implies that the Boars die solely as a result of Arcades dies to first strike, earlier than the “regular” fight harm step. That’s not appropriate, the Boars die in any case.

120.6. Harm marked on a creature stays till the cleanup step, even when that everlasting stops being a creature. If the entire harm marked on a creature is larger than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt deadly harm and is destroyed as a state-based motion (see rule 704). All harm marked on a everlasting is eliminated when it regenerates (see rule 701.19, “Regenerate”) and through the cleanup step (see rule 514.2).

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles